I cried a lot this morning. After work yesterday too. That hot chocolate helped though – I need me another one of those sometime soon.

I've been thinking I'm going to have to look for another job soon. But first I have to try my best to get things taken care of with this keyholder. Today I'm going to find some time to have a conversation with her. I don't know how it will go because I've never done this before. But I know what I'm unhappy about and I know what I want her to change for me, and I just need to tell her that.

I'm very upset with the dynamic between us and I need her to defer to my judgement and bring me into the loop before we call my boss. It's hugely disrespectful to both of us if every time there's a problem she runs to my boss and leaves me out of it. It upset me and it's frankly unprofessional.

I'm also not cool with being delegated to anymore. I'm done with training and I know what was to be done and I'll let her know which parts of what needs to be done are going to be up to her. If she sees something that's not being done and needs to get done, she can suggest it and bring it up to my attention – not delegate it to me or ask me to take care of it.

She's going to start treating me like I'm the ASM, which means she treats me like I'm the SM if the SM is out of the business. If my boss isn't here, I'm the boss.

She's going to start communicating to me the things that she's working on and the things she wants to change, and the things she's instructed a sales associate to do. That's starting today.

I am not answerable to her the same way she is answerable to me. She can respectfully ask questions but it's not for her to fight me every time I make my own decisions. I need her on board with me so that when my boss is out of the business things run smoothly for when she gets back.

Many hours and some tears later

Well today didn't go the way I wanted it to, but it went pretty much how I thought it would. She fought me on a bunch of stuff, I did my best to stand my ground, the stuff got done eventually.

That's just about it. FML